Which local authorities have been categorised as ‘high’ and ‘very high’ risk?

Boris Johnson has announced a three-tier approach to coronavirus restrictions with all of England put into medium, high and very high risk categories.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The Prime Minister set out the simplified and standardised system in a bid to stem the surge in Covid-19 cases as the Government confirmed Sheffield and South Yorkshire in Tier 2.

Tier 2 means the "rule of six applies" to everyone living in those areas, even outside.

People can also not meet another household indoors with pubs and restaurants remaining open.

Boris JohnsonBoris Johnson
Boris Johnson

Here is a breakdown of the areas under each level of the new alert system.Very high:Liverpool City Region– Liverpool– Knowsley– Wirral– St Helens– Sefton– HaltonHigh:Cheshire– Cheshire West and Chester– Cheshire EastGreater Manchester– Manchester– Bolton– Bury– Stockport– Tameside– Trafford– Wigan– Salford– Rochdale– OldhamWarrington– WarringtonDerbyshire– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield NorthLancashire– Lancashire– Blackpool– Preston– Blackburn with Darwen– BurnleyWest Yorkshire– Leeds– Bradford– Kirklees– Calderdale– WakefieldSouth Yorkshire– Barnsley– Rotherham– Doncaster– SheffieldNorth East– Newcastle– South Tyneside– North Tyneside– Gateshead– Sunderland– Durham– NorthumberlandTees Valley– Middlesbrough– Redcar and Cleveland– Stockton-on-Tees– Darlington– HartlepoolWest Midlands– Birmingham– Sandwell– Solihull– Wolverhampton– WalsallLeicester– Leicester– Oadby and WigstonNottingham– Nottinghamshire– Nottingham CityMedium:All other areas in England.