MP ‘relaxed’ over boundary changes

BASSETLAW MP John Mann has said he is ‘relaxed’ about the proposed boundary changes which could see two wards moved to Sherwood.

Under plans published last week, Beckingham and Sturton will move to Sherwood.

This would mean the move of a combined total of 3,600 voters moving to the new Sherwood boundary - which is currently a Tory seat held by Mark Spencer.

Labour MP Mr Mann said the move would have ‘minimum impact’ on Bassetlaw.

“I am relaxed about this. We had a big boundary change at the last general election where I lost Warsop and gained Retford - which was much more disruptive,” he said

“It has still got to go out to consultation and review but I can definitely see the logic of the boundary change and I think the boundary commission have done a good job.”

He added: “It won’t make a great deal of difference.”

“I will still continue to work for the people of Beckingham and Sturton and I don’t intend to let up on the campaigning of the issues that matter to them, particularly the campaign against the proposed wind farm for the area.”

Tory Coun Ken Bulllivant, who represents the Beckingham ward, said he has mixed views about the boundary proposals.

“It seems to me that Beckingham has no affinity with places in Nottingham,” he said.

“Sherwood seems a bit of a poor choice me,” he said.

“But it will do Mr Mann a favour because there are a lot of people who vote Conservative in Beckingham, so this will make his labour seat safer.”

The Boundary Commission has published initial proposals for consultation for nine regions in England this month.

It will be consulting on these proposals for 12 weeks, until 5th December 2011.

Responses received will then be collated and be examined during a four week period - expected to be in spring 2012.

Final recommendations will then be presented to the Government by 1st October 2013.

Anyone who wishes to find out more about the proposals can visit

You can also contribute to the consultation by emailing [email protected] or writing directly to Boundary Commission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London, Sw14 3BQ.