Obituary: Benjamin Holm Williams

The Rev Geoffrey Spencer officiated at the service and arrangements were by J Marshall of Market Rasen.
. EMN-160610-064634001. EMN-160610-064634001
. EMN-160610-064634001

Cremation followed at Barrow in Furness, where Ben was born.

At the age of 16, he started work at the Midland Bank (now HSBC), where he spent his entire career.

He started at Ulverston in Cumbria, then moved to Barrow in Furness and Manchester’s Trafford Park branch.

He then went to the bank training branch at Bootle and on to branches at Knutsford, Manchester Airport, Stoke on Trent and Silloth on Solway, before coming to Market Rasen and the area office in Lincoln.

Ben had many interests. He was chairman of Market Rasen Cricket Club for many years, as well as being involved with Arthritis Research Campaign (ARC) in the town, serving for a time as its treasurer.

Over the years, he was involved with the Air Training Corps and was a member of Market Rasen Golf Club.

Ben was also a member and past president of Market Rasen Rotary Club.

Family mourners were: Joyce (wife); Helen and Steven Bates (daughter and son-in-law); Ian Williams and Kate Miller (son and partner); Sam Williams, Matthew Bates and Olivia Bates (grandchildren); Shirley Barker (sister); Pamela and Les Johnston (sister-in-law and brother-in-law); David Robinson (brother-in-law); Amanda Shearer, David Johnston< Paul Johnston, Paul Williams, Katie Robinson and Chris Dixon (nieces and nephews).

Friends at the service were: Ray New (also rep Diane, Jason and family); Chris Middleton; Mal Jones; Pete and Denise Ward; Jackie Carter (also rep Joanna Carter); Alan Carter (also rep Troy Steadman); Karen Morrison (also rep Claire and James); Tony Spray; Thelma Fysk; Nigel Douglas; Di Douglas (also rep Bob Winter); Mr and Mrs Eric Bell; David Rowett; Peter and Janet Marriott; Hugh and Penny Nott; John Smith; Tony Bell (also rep Market Rasen Christmas Tree Fund; Ryan Dring; Stuart Britton; Geoff Hill); Janet and David Ranby; Richard Lewis (also rep Anne Lewis); Jono Stephenson; Rose and Harold Bates; John Moore; Alistair Upton; Mr and Mrs Bunn; Tim Paul (also rep Kerri Paul); Jade and Kieron Paul; Marion West (also rep Cricket and Football Club); Dale Christie; Robert and Susan Christie; Nev Chapman (also rep Lesley Chapman; Joan Chapman; Jeff and Jill Stephenson; Matthew Rutherford; Neil Rutherford; Ryan Penniston (also rep Ian Penniston); Lee Chambers; Kevin Bett; Karen Bett; Alan and Sue Crombie; Tony Neal; Chris and Rosemary Walker (Carry on Singing Group); Gill and Martin Doyle; Roger and Liz Bishop (also rep Edward and Richard Bishop, Northumberland); John Wilson; Peter Smith; Patricia Hodges; Frank Fieldsend; Steven and Helen Millington; Margaret Whitworth; Andrew Morrison; Sue Eames (also rep Dr Eames); Bob Pearce (also rep the Pearce family); Joe Willisch; Rob Parry (also rep Graham and Christine Parry); Bob Davidson; Frances Picksley; Jamie Snell; Sarah and Simon Sprague; Brian and Pam Reaney (also rep Mr and Mrs Bolton; Terry Chapman); Cynthia Golland (also rep David Mason); Richard and Monica Hansard (also rep Peter and Sally Robinson,;Joyce Rhodes; Michael and Helen Hansard); Colin and Hazel Baker; Kaye Spyvee; Mr and Mrs Peter Allenson (also rep Mr and Mrs David Allenson); Jane Ranby (also rep Michael Ranby); Mo Korytnickyj (also rep Wayne, Craig and Gavin); John and Jenny Clements; John Hoffmann; Laurie and Cecile Povey; Mr and Mrs Patrick; Jane Maxwell; Philip Westman; Lindsey Westman; Donald Westman; Archie and Mary Kerr; Derek and Jose Grayson ; Keith Patrick; Stuart Davis (also rep Christine); David Herring (also rep Polly); Mr and Mrs A Holvey (also rep Mr and Mrs G Fenwick; Dean Richards); Andrew Myland (also rep Mr and Mrs R Myland ; Nichola Myland); Mr and Mrs J Bates; Pete Grayson; Traff Noon; Wayne Noon (also rep Rosemary Noon); Ian and Barbara Shedden; Derek and Janet Anderson; Trevor Lyle; Jane Jacklin; Pete Taylor (also rep Mrs Taylor); Steve Cartwright (also rep Christmas Tree Club); Ellana Flunder; Mr and Mrs J Woodall; Jackie Rhoades; Rita Goulsbra (also rep David Goulsbra; staff of Cynthia’s Hairstylists); Geoff and Glenda Taylor (also rep Richard Taylor); Moira Bradshaw; GM and NM Cooper; Annie Houghton; Daisy and Rory Miller

Related topics: