Lincolnshire County Council elections: Full list of candidates standing in Gainsborough

Next week the voters of Gainsborough and the surrounding area will head to the polls to cast their votes for who they want to represent them at Lincolnshire County Council.

Polling takes place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, May 6.

More postal votes are also expected this year because of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Here are all the candidates standing in Gainsborough and parts of West Lindsey.

Voters will elect members of Lincolnshire County Council

Gainsborough Hill, Sheila Christine Bibb, Conservative, Matt Boles, Liberal Democrats, Michael Hancock, Labour, Pat O’Connor, Reform UK.

Gainsborough Rural South, Richard David Butroid, Conservative, Quincy Michael Connell, Lincolnshire Independents, Tom Cox, Labour, Baptiste Velan, Liberal Democrats.

Gainsborough Trent, Laura Victoria Ashby, Conservative, Paul Michael Key, Independent, Perry Peter Smith, Labour, Trevor Victor Young, Liberal Democrats.

Nettleham and Saxilby, Jackie Brockway, Conservative, Morag Anne Green, Labour, Benjamin Jeffrey Leigh Loryman, Green, Angela May White, Liberal Democrats.

Scotter Rural, Robert Andrew Adderley, Labour, Paul David John Howitt-Cowan, Independent, Clio Lyndon Perraton-Williams, Conservative, Lesley Anne Rollings, Liberal Democrats.

The Local Democracy Reporting Service (LDRS) has spoken to communities across Lincolnshire ahead of the election and three standout issues emerged from the discussions and were at the hearts of people in the county after a year of being in lockdown. These were potholes, street lighting and fly-tipping.

Road maintenance comes down to funding from central government, reduced street lighting was another way for councils to save money, and fly-tipping is a complex problem as the tips are run by the county council, but the district councils have to deal with the clean up and general rubbish, garden waste and recycling collections.

For more information about the upcoming election and the candidates standing in your ward and also where you can vote visit