Full list of candidates officially named for Sleaford and North Hykeham in General Election

There will be six candidates standing for Parliament in Sleaford and North Hykeham Constituency in next month's General Election.


The deadline for nominations drew to a close at 4pm today (Thursday) and North Kesteven District Council, as the local election authority, has published the list of candidates throwing their hats in the ring.

Most of the names had already publicly expressed their intentions to stand in recent weeks having been selected by their local parties.

The election will be held on June 8.

The full list of candidates officially named is Sara Chadd (UKIP), Jim Clarke (Labour Party), Paul Coyne (Independent), Caroline Elizabeth Johnson (The Conservative Party Candidate), Fiona McKenna (Green Party) and Ross David Pepper (Liberal Democrats).

In Grantham and Stamford (which covers some villages south and west of Sleaford), those standing are: Nick Boles (The Conservative Party Candidate), Anita Annabelle Dora Day (Liberal Democrat), Barrie Anthony Fairbairn (Labour Party), Marietta Eve Neild King (UKIP), Tariq Mahmood (Independent) and Rebecca (Becca) Thackray (Green Party Candidate).

As well as the General Election, two North Kesteven District Council, one Sleaford Town Council and one Bracebridge Heath Parish Council by-election will be held, as well as a Neighbourhood Plan referendum in Nocton and Potterhanworth.

Candidates for the Ashby de la Launde and Cranwell Ward of North Kesteven District Council are:

Pearl Clarke – (Lincolnshire Independents)

Daniel Gray – (The Conservative Party Candidate)

Candidates for the Heighington and Washingborough wards of North Kesteven District Council are:

Edward Herring – (The Conservative Party Candidate)

Les Whitfield – (Liberal Democrats)

Candidates for the Sleaford Town Council Quarrington Ward are:

Linda Edwards-Shea – (The Labour Party)

Claudia Nel – (Lincolnshire Independents – Sleaford)

Francesca Richards – (Independent)

Melody Shanahan-Kluth – (The Conservative Party Candidate)

Candidates for the Bracebridge Heath Parish Council by-election are:

Funmi Adeyemi

Ian Donaldson

Voting for all elections will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, June 8.

The last date for registration to vote in these elections is midnight on Monday, May 22 at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Deadline for receipt of applications for postal voting is 5pm on Tuesday, May 23; and 5pm on Wednesday May 31 for proxy vote applications.

Contact [email protected] or 01529 414155 for details.