Lincolnshire County Council elections 2021: who are the candidates standing in the Horncastle area?

Residents are being reminded to head to the polls on Thursday, May 6 to cast their votes in the county council election.

Elections stock image.

Here is a list of candidates standing for election in our local wards:

HORNCASTLE & THE KEALS: Bill Aron (Independent); Simon Claxton (Skegness Urban District Society); William Gray (Conservative); Dominic James Hinkins (Labour & Co-operative).

TATTERSHALL CASTLE: Tom Ashton (Conservative); Jacob Frederick Croft (Labour); Karen Stokes (Green).

WOODHALL SPA & WRAGBY: Patricia Anne Bradwell (Conservative); Paul Martin Charles Masterman (Labour).

Lincolnshire County Council is made up of 70 councillors and is currently Conservative-led.

All 70 seats are being contested in this election, which means that a party would require 36 seats to be able to form a majority.

The Returning Officer is Chief Executive, Debbie Barnes.

Polling stations will close on Thursday night at 10pm.

The counting process is managed by district councils across the county

As the results come in, they will also be uploaded onto and publicised via the county council’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram profiles - @LincolnshireCC

Current political makeup of Lincolnshire County Council

• Conservative – 54 seats (77.1%)

• Independent – 6 seats (8.6%)

• Labour - 5 seats (7.1%)

• Independent (none-aligned) - 2 seats (2.8%)

• Liberal Democrat – 1 seat (1.4%)

• Lincolnshire Independent – 1 seat (1.4%)

• 1 vacancy (Market Rasen Wolds)

Lincolnshire has a population of 755,853 (Lincolnshire Research Observatory – ONS mid-year population estimates).

District figures:

• Boston – 69,366

• East Lindsey – 140,741

• Lincoln – 99,039

• North Kesteven – 115,985

• South Holland – 93,980

• South Kesteven – 141,853

• West Lindsey – 94,869