What tier am I in? Government introduces new coronavirus postcode checker

With a new three tier level of coronavirus restrictions being introduced across England, how can you find out which tier you are in?
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Earlier today, Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced today that people in England will now be following a three tier lockdown system - medium, high and very high, which will all determine how severe lockdown measures are in each place.

Many areas already in local lockdowns will go straight into tier 2, while those in tier 3 will see their pubs and bars closed.

You will be able to find out which tier your local area is in soon on a website the Government is currently working on.

The Government is introducing a new postcode checker.The Government is introducing a new postcode checker.
The Government is introducing a new postcode checker.

On the other hand, you can also use the NHS COVID-19 app to find the results.

What do the different tiers mean?

Tier 1 - Medium

For people in the 'medium' tier, which is the majority of England, the lockdown rules include the rule of six as well as a 10pm curfew for the hospitality sector.

Tier 2 - High

If your area falls into tier 2, or 'high', the same rules apply, but interactions between households indoors are banned.

The rule of six will remain for these areas outdoors.

Tier 3 - Very High

Tier 3 applies to areas in England where the virus is transmitting rapidly and where the NHS is at risk of being overwhelmed.

In these areas, no social mixing will be allowed indoors or outdoors.

Pubs and bars will also be closing in areas marked as 'very high'.

Schools and universities will stay open in all these areas.