BOWLS: Sleaford club begin season with friendly against Legionnaires

Sleaford Town Bowls Club opened the new season with an afternoon in the Woodhall Spa friendly league against Sleaford Legionnaires, winning on two rinks and taking four points to two.
Bowls news.Bowls news.
Bowls news.

Ken Hopwood Brian Srawley and Tom Bell won 14-13, Pete Annison Gillian Annison and Roy Markham won 16-14, Robin Wilson Ken Dye and Bas Gilbert lost 13-17.

Other results:

City League

Sleaford 99

Lee Road Lincoln 73

Andrew Bird, Pete Annison and David Curt won 29-12; Ken Dye, Roger Neaverson and Derek Smith won 25-16; Lewis Jobson, Kris Moore Paul Jobson won 23-16; Phil Musson, Larry Davies and Martin Titley lost 22-29.

St Giles 90

Sleaford 78

David Curt, Richard Barnes and Andrew Bird won 21-14; Derek Smith, Martin Titley and Roger Neaverson lost 20-29; Neil Mapletoft, Phil Musson and Trevor Cope lost 16-25; Kriss Moore, Larry Davies and Paul Jobson lost 22-25.

Lincoln District League

Washingborough 89

Sleaford 96

Robin Wilson, Gillian Annison and Roy Markham won 37-16; Calum Campbell, Joan Gilbert and David Campbell won 21-20; Pete Annison, Ron Lupton and Mick Wareham lost 20-25; Jackie Wareham, Catherine Frain and Bas Gilbert lost 18-28.

Navenby 97

Ruskington 77

David Miller, John Hurst and Les Warren won 25-20; Andy Snoxell, Trevor Harding and Cyril Knaggs lost 17-31; Paul Butterworth, Les Wilkinson and Graham Croft lost 11-28; Tony Codd, Keith Pilbeam and Trevor Thackray won 24-18.

Woodhall Spa League

Leasingham 53

Sleaford 75

Joan Gilbert, Gillian Annison and Roy Markham drew 25-225; Pete Annison, Ken Dye and Tom Bell won 35-6; Robin Wilson, Brian Srawley and Bas Gilbert lost 15-22.

Eslaforde 54

Ruskington 50

Jim Barclay, Isabel Drain and Graham Croft won 22-15; Les Jenkins, Carol Croft and Jim Matson lost 13-22; Tony Codd, Cyril Knaggs and Les Warren lost 15-17.

City (Evening) KO Handicap Cup

Sleaford 107

Harby 41

Lewis Jobson, Larry Daries and Andrew Bird won 41-12; David Curt, Roger Neaverson and Phil Musson won 29-18; Ken Dye, Kriss Moore and Neil Mapletoft won 37-11.

City (Afternoon) League KO Handicap Cup

Ruskington 58

Nettleham 50

(Nettleham due to 9-shot handicap)

Trevor Thackray, Les Wilkinson and Trevor Harding won 21-13; Les Jenkins, Carol Croft and Les Warren won 20-17; David Miller, Isabel Drain and Graham Croft lost 17-20.

Cliff League

Ruskington 77

Saxilby 59

Dave Woods, Les Wilkinson and Keith Pilbeam won 17-14; John Booth, Sue Mitchell and L. Pickton won 20-9; Trevor Thackray, John Hurst and Andy Snoxell won 22-15; Dave Miller, George Glover and Tony Codd lost 18-21.

Coningsby League

Ruskington 49

Sibsey Strollers 57

Waylon Clarke, Trevor Thackray and Les Jenkins won 24-9; Tony Codd, Zack Thompson and Keith Pilbeam lost 9-26; third set lost 16-22.