Gainsborough Trinity slip to fourth successive defeat

Gainsborough Trinity slipped to their fourth straight defeat when they were beaten 2-0 by Curzon Ashton.

Two changes to the side that were narrowly beaten by Champions elect Solihull Moors, saw gaffer Steve Housham recall Nathan Jarman in attack, alongside Craig Reid, while Adam Quinn missed out.

An early setback didn’t help their cause, as Ryan Brooke was given the freedom of the midfield to stride forward and fire in a speculative effort from 25-yards which beat Jan Budtz.

Budtz’s long ball shortly after, was met by the head of Nathan Jarman, who in turn’s flick found Elliot Hodge, but the winger’s effort was deflected behind.

Trinity had penalty shouts waved away, before Ashton went close to adding a second when the ball was nodded down for Michael Norton only for captain Dominic Roma to get a last ditch tackle in.

Elliot Hodge demonstrated what he was capable of to the Northolme faithful when he skipped past two men and laid it off to Saturday’s goalscorer Craig Reid, who had his shot blocked.

Josh Lacey was the next to carry out his defensive duties to deny Matthew Warburton, before Nathan Jarman tested Burton in the away goal.

Debatably the best chance of the game fell to Jake Picton once more, but he fluffed his lines from Josh Lacey’s cross.

Curzon doubled their lead just before the break when Jan Budtz’s mis-kick ended with Niall Cummins slotting home.

Liam Davis had a good chance to pull one back just after the restart, before Craig Reid was unable to get the finishing touches to Josh Lacey’s cross on the hour mark after some good defending.

Trinity puffed hard in the closing stages but were unable to stop Curzon from completing the double over them this season.

Gainsborough Trinity: Budtz, Roma, Lacey (Quinn 90), Brogan, D’Laryea, Picton, Russell, Davis, Reid (Stamp 70), Jarman, Hodge (Karkach 76).

Curzon Ashton: Burton, Woodford. Guest, Hunt, Shaw, Rowley, Brooke (Lowe 73) Brown, Cummings, Norton (Cockerlime 73), Warburton.

Subs not used: Hampson, Wright and Mason.