Kitchen skills

Sleaford Town Bowls Club were involved in six matches this week.

At Billinghay in the Ron Kitchen Trophy, of the five disciplines the town won three to the hosts two to go into the next round.

Andrew Bird won the four bowl singles 21-4, John Parker lost the two bowl singles 11-21,Kris Moore and Neil Mapletoft won the doubles 21-14, Calum Campbell, Larry Davies and David Campbell lost the two bowl trips 13-29 and Martin Titley Roger Neaverson and Trevor Cope won the three bowl triples 20-11.

At home to Elsaford Park in the Woodhall League, only one rink was won for two points. Arthur Norris, Joan Gilbert and Roy Markham won 13-9,Pete Annison, Ron Lupton and Bas Gilbert lost 6-10, Mick Jarrold, Larry Davies and Tom Bell lost 10-13.

At home against Moorlands Railway in the city league, three rink wins gave the town the aggregate score of 92-79 and 12 points. Calum Campbell, Kris Moore and Neil Mapletoft won 26-14, John Parker, Roger Neaverson and Paul Jobson won 30-18 and Martin Titley, Phil Musson and Richard Barnes won 20-19, David Campbell, Larry Davies and Andrew Bird lost 16-28.

At home against St Giles in the District League, one rink win and one draw gave the town three points, despite losing the game 79-110.

Robin Wilson, John Denney and Roy Markham won 28-26, Lewis Jobson, Joan Gilbert and David Campbell drew 20-20 and the losing sets were Ruth Bird, Brian Srawley and David Curt 14-38 and Pete Annison, Ron Lupton and Bas Gilbert 17-26.

Playing Eslaford Park in the Sleaford League Knockout Cup on a two-home and two-away format, Town lost on three rinks and the game 59-94.Both away sets lost as Catherine Frain, Ron Lupton and Bas Gilbert went down 14-24 and Pete Annison, Ken Dye and David Curt succumbed 13-26. At home, Joan Gilbert, Gwen Campbell and Larry Davies won 19-17 while Steve Morris, Peter Stokes and Brian Srawley lost 13-25.

At home against Hykeham in the EBA League, all three rinks won with the aggregate score 64-41 for 10 points. Martin Titley, David Campbell, Neil Mapletoft and Andrew Bird won 20-14, John Parker, Roger Neaverson, Richard Barnes and Derek Smith won 25-15, Calum Campbell Kris Moore Paul Jobson and Trevor Cope won 19-12.