Lincs bowlers scoop Liberty Trophy

The Lincolnshire Men's team won the Liberty Trophy to make it a double for the county at the National Bowls Finals.
Lincolnshire team members celebrate their victory.Lincolnshire team members celebrate their victory.
Lincolnshire team members celebrate their victory.

Competing at Nottingham on Sunday, the Yellowbelly team beat Kent 120-107 in the final to lift the trophy for the second time, their previous sucess coming in 1981.

And it completed a superb one-two for Lincs, following on from the Ladies’ Atherley Trophy success.

The county’s highly respected Past President Richard White said: “This is a fine achievement on the part of the boys, and I’m proud of them.”

Lincolnshire had beaten Norfolk 124-118 in the semi-finals.

Final results: Kevin Rands, Richard Ashton, Danny Brown, Billy Jackson (all Lincoln) lost 15-18; Adrian Field (Boston), Alan Watts (Lincoln), Kevin Ekins, Jordan Philpott (both Spalding) won 15-13; Steven Harris (Stamford), Terry Berridge (Grantham), Ashley Caress, Graham Smith (both Spalding) won 30-16; Scott Dunham (Spalding), Ron Flowers (Boston), Simon Law (Stamford), Martin Spencer (Spalding) lost 15-25; Matt Whyers (Spalding/Boston), Richard Vinter (Boston), Martin Pulling (Grantham), Matt Orrey (Spalding) won 25-18; Ian Clark (Boston), Rod West (Boston), Andy Dunham (Spalding), Jonathan West (Boston) won 20-17.

However, there was no additional trophy for Boston’s Rod and Jonathan West, beaten 18-16 by Wendy and Lewis King in the Family Pairs.