Boston Tennis Club juniors collect awards

Boston Tennis Club held their junior awards evening on Saturday.
Tennis newsTennis news
Tennis news

Club President Michael Milnes presented certificates and trophies to many of the club’s young players.

A cause for celebration in 2019 are the results of the LTA’s Team Tennis Premier Division when both Boston Ladies and Boston Men won the Regional Divisions and gained promotion in to the National Divisions.

At the start of the season this was an unlikely outcome but the contribution of upcoming youngsters playing alongside experienced adults gave Boston teams this fantastic result.

The team that won the Midlands East Division One included Richard Cook, Michael Emery, Edward Fowler, Will Mason (captain), James Newton, Marcus Witt, Will Cheer, Matthew Gedney and Lucas East.

Will Cheer also played in the second team that won the Lincolnshire Division One and gained promotion in to the Regional section.

He played alongside Richard Cook, Tom Cozens (captain), Edward Fowler, Ryan Frankish, Jeremy George-Jones and James Newton.

The ladies’ team, which won the Midlands East Division, was Victoria Beardsley, Danielle Frankish (captain), Emily Hawkesworth, Lucy Hull, Emma Mastin and Alice Gamman.

In the Team Tennis Premier Midlands Division 2019 the 12 and under boys – Jacob Felipes, Noah Freeman, James Gedney, Finley Mackey and William Pettitt (captain Sarah Pettitt) finished a respectable mid-table.

Charlie Cook, Declan Dodes, Jack May, George Skipworth, Alex Underhill, Alayna Buswell, Neve Gibbons, Olivia Hilton, Louis Clark, Noah Holden, Jack May, Lewis Patchett, Natasha Dodes, Billy Smith, Emily Pye, Matilda Buck, Tomass Goreliks, Alice Servonat, Ben Rudkin, Poppy Gibbons, Lewis Patchett, Tomek Thornley, Owen Sims, Amelia Tait-Robinson, Antoni Chmielik, Finley Houghton, Matilda Clark all represented Boston Tennis Club in the Dunlop Lindum Lincolnshire Mini Tennis Indoor League 2018 -2019 and in the Lincolnshire Team Tennis 2019.

In the Lincolnshire Team Tennis 2019, the 12 and under Girls won Division One, the team comprising Yasmin Everitt, Poppy Gibbons and Emily Stukins.

The 14 and under girls – Lois Boothby, Yasmin Everitt, Poppy Gibbons, Serena Morrow, Emily Stukins and Isabel Wookey - won Division One.

The 16 and under boys were runners-up in Division One, as were the 18 and under boys – Hayden Bingham, Max Jones, Thomas Mecklenburgh, Devon Morgan, Thomas Piggins, Ben Robson, Lucas East and Matthew Gedney.

Ben Rudkin, Matilda Clark, William Cheer, Alice Gamman, Isabel Wookey and Matthew Gedney were all recognised as Lincolnshire County Champions in 2019.