Lincolnshire County Cricket League season is cancelled... but teams to compete in cup competition

Round robin action ensures cricket this year for clubs...
Cricket news.Cricket news.
Cricket news.

The Lincolnshire County Cricket League has cancelled the 2020 season as more than half the scheduled fixtures could not be played before the Government lifted its coronavirus (Covid-19) suspension of the sport at recreational level across the UK.

However, there will be several weeks' club cricket, beginning on Saturday, August 1.

Fixtures have been compiled for teams wishing to take part in a cup competition, to involve four round robin groups, organised regionally to reduce travelling distances

The group winners will meet in semi-finals on September 5, with the final taking place on September 12.

Games will start at 1pm with 40 overs an innings and bowlers restricted to a maximum eight overs apiece.

Social distancing will be strictly observed, together with other safety measures specified by the government and the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB). Traditional teas will not be taken during the interval.

Spectators are welcome at games but must not handle the ball if it crosses the boundary.

Meanwhile, any teams wishing to apply for membership of the Lincolnshire County Cricket League for the 2021 season should apply in writing to general secretary Neil Birkitt at [email protected] before July 31.

An application fee will apply and a ground/facilities inspection will be carried out.

Clubs' home grounds must be within the traditional Lincolnshire county boundary.

New applicants for membership will be considered at the league's annual general meeting, scheduled for the autumn.

Fixtures for August 1: Central Group - Hartsholme CC v Nettleham CC; Lindum CC 2nds v Bracebridge Heath CC; Scothern CC v Clee Town Laportes CC; Wold Group - Alford CC v Louth CC 2nds; Holton Le Clay CC v Market Rasen Town CC; Caistor Town CC v Horncastle CC; North East Group - Barton Town CC v Brigg Town CC; Grimsby Town CC v Broughton CC; Cleethorpes 2nds v East Halton CC; North West Group - Alkborough CC v Hibaldstow CC; Haxey CC v Outcasts CC; Scunthorpe Town CC 2nds v Messingham CC.

Related topics: